Tuesday, 11 May 2010

Condé Nast Traveller Innovation and Design award winners announced

The winners of the fourth annual Condé Nast Traveller Innovation and Design Awards were announced last night at the Renaissance Chancery Court London, High Holborn. The evening was hosted by Sarah Miller, editor of Condé Nast Traveller. The awards recognized excellence in ten categories as follows:

Paul Smith for his limited-edition Evian bottle as well as his Cylinda Range tablewear for Stelton in celebration of the firm’s 50th Anniversary.
Award presented by international designer Tom Dixon.

The revamped Monkey Bar in Manhattan wins this honour, collected by Jeremy King. Created by Graydon Carter, Jeremy King and Jeff Klein and designed by Carter and Basil Walter. Award presented by chef Heston Blumenthal.


This category is won by Apple’s iPad. Collected by Adam Howorth, the
Award presented by Brent Hoberman, founder of Lastminute.com and Mydeco.com.

Anya Hindmarch Bespoke wins the retail category for her shop in Pont Street where clients can emboss messages onto handbags and wallets. Award presented by Ed Vaisey MP.

Soliloquy, winner of this category - a collaboration between prize-winning British marine designer, Alastair Callender, and Solar Sailor, an Australian company that specialises in sun- and wind-energy systems for ships. Award presented by John Thackara, founder of the Netherlands Design Institute.

The Aircruise concept wins the Aviation category, collected by Nick Talbot and Craig Bunyan. Designed by Seymour Powell, the Aircruise will be a hotel in the sky that will take a day or more to carry you to your destination, like the transatlantic liners of old. Award presented by Paul Thompson, Rector of the Royal College of Art.

There are two winners for this category. Anish Kapoor for his exhibition at The Royal Academy and Zaha Hadid for the MAXXI at the National Museum of XXI Century Arts in Rome, with its protruding upper floor like night-vision goggles observing the city. Award presented by Sir Nicholas Serota, Director of Tate.

Living Architecture, an enterprise dedicated to the promotion and enjoyment of world-class modern architecture by creating a set of holiday homes around Britain, commissioned by contemporary architects, wins this prize. The project is masterminded by Mark Robinson, Dickon Robinson and Alain de Botton, with the latter collecting the prize. Award presented by Loyd Grossman.

Designed by Foster & Partners with Arup, Florence TAV Railway Station wins this award, collected by David Nelson & Gerard Evenden. With its single tube with a faceted glass roof, the station resembles transparent snakeskin. Award presented by award-winning architect Lord Richard Rogers.

This category is won by Virgin Galactic’s HSS Enterprise SpaceShip Two, collected by Will Whitehorn. Designed by Jim Tighe, Bob Morgan and teams, the design was unveiled in December and will be taking passengers 62 miles up. Award presented by model and writer Saffron Aldridge.

Due to an unprecedented number of votes this year, a special prize was awarded to Apple for the iPad and the iPhone apps. Award presented by Belinda Pote, Chief Sales & Marketing Officer, Europe, Marriott Hotels & Resorts.