Wednesday, 9 February 2011

Jasmine Awards 2010 winners announced

The Jasmine Awards, the UK’s awards for journalists writing on the subject of fragrance, were held today at BAFTA, London W1. Presiding over the event were the Chairman of the Jasmine Awards 2010-2011, Emmanuelle Noyer, Managing Director of Guerlain UK, and Peter Norman, Chairman of The Fragrance Foundation UK.

The 2010 judges were: industry expert Catherine Mitchell of IFF; Elizabeth Fagan, Marketing Director of Boots; prize-winning author Sara Wheeler; Willie Walters, Head of the MA Fashion Course at St Martin’s; womenswear designer Graeme Black and the milliner Cozmo Jenks. They decided that the winners in eight prize categories were:

Jasmine Literary Award (magazine):
Tania Sanchez for “Essence of Summer” in Psychologies magazine, July 2010.

Jasmine Literary Award (news press):
Michael Bywater for “Scents and Sensibility” in The Independent, 31 August.

Jasmine Visual Award:
Harrods Magazine for “Fleurs du Mal”, in the September issue. Photographer Patrice d'Hotman de Villiers illustrated the article written by Tony Marcus. Patrice was also last year’s winning photographer.

Best Practical Guide to Fragrance:
Joint winners of the award were Catherine Turner & Evie Leatham for their article “On the Scent Trail” in November’s Easy Living magazine.

Jasmine Soundbite (magazine):
Lucia van Der Post for “Make a Splash” in Easy Living, August.

Jasmine Soundbite (news press):
Caroline Brien for “Think Outside the Bottle” in the Financial Times Weekend newspaper, 5/6 June.

Best Article in a Customer Magazine:
Jan Masters for her article “On the Scent” published in the September issue of Harrods Magazine, repeating her 2009 win.

Best Website Feature on Fragrance:
The judges decided to share the prize between two entries. Avril Groom won for “The Packaging is Plain, the Perfume Anything But” on, 9 August, and Yanar Alkayat also won for “What's Your Perfume Personality?” on, 16 November.

Pictured above: Emmanuelle Noyer, MD Guerlain UK (left). Louise Chunn, editor Psychologies accepting award on behalf on Tania Sanchez (middle). Sarah Wheeler, author (right).
Photographer: Steven Morris.