Wednesday, 11 May 2011

Condé Nast Traveller announces winners at fifth annual Innovation and Design Awards

Condé Nast Traveller last night announced the winners of its fifth annual Innovation and Design Awards. Presented at the new St Pancras Renaissance Hotel London (pictured above), the evening was hosted by Sarah Miller, Editor of Condé Nast Traveller. A panel of judges compiled a shortlist of recent designs across the ten categories which were revealed in a supplement in the May issue of Condé Nast Traveller and on the website. Readers were then invited to vote for the winners online at Below is a complete list of winners.

Won by Yotam Ottolenghi for Nopi in London, an all-day brasserie.

Puma was awarded for the Clever Little Bag; a new shoebox designed by Yves Behar, that uses 65% less paper than the standard box.

VitraHaus, Weil am Rhein, Germany won this award. A furniture store house in a building by Herzog & de Meuron: a stack of oblong forms with glazed gable ends that reveal the white interior.

This category was won by the Mercury, a high-speed train concept.

Chico and Rita, an animated film created by Barcelona designer Javier Mariscal won this prize.

Air New Zealand was awarded in this category, with European General Manager, Chris Myers collecting the award.

Style on the Move
Jasper Conran won this category for his Jasper Conran at Tripp range.

Designed by Bernard Tschumi Architects and Hugh Dutton Associates, the footbridge at La Roche-sur-Yon in France won this award.

Communication Technology
This category was won by Twitter’s co-founder Jack Dorsey for Square, an app combined with a credit-card swiper which allows anyone to accept electronic payments through their phone.

Sir David Chipperfield was awarded for The Hepworth Wakefield gallery.

Designer of the Year
The overall winner was Yves Behar.

For more information click here