Thursday, 16 June 2011

Scottish Fashion Awards 2011 winners announced

The 2011 Scottish Fashion Awards (in association with VOGUE.COM) took place last night at Glasgow Science Centre. Samantha Cameron, in her role as Ambassador to the British Fashion Council, attended the event and presented the evening’s most prestigious award - ‘Scottish Fashion Designer of the Year 2011’ to Jonathan Saunders.

Hosted by MTV’s Laura Whitmore, awards were given to Harris Tweed Hebrides, Tali Lennox, Henrietta Ludgate, Henry Holland, Bebaroque and Rankin, who received the Hall of Fame 2011 award. Guests and judges in attendance on the night included Dolly Jones, editor of; Nathalie Colin, Creative Director of Swarovski; Hilary Alexander, fashion director of The Daily Telegraph; Paula Reed, style director at Grazia; Sarah Bailey, deputy editor of Harpers Bazaar; Eilidh McAskill, editor of InStyle; Richard Walker, editor of Sunday Herald; Professor Wendy Dagworthy and Brian Duffy President of Ralph Lauren Europe.

The 2011 winners were:

Scottish Designer of the Year – Jonathan Saunders
Scottish Young Designer of the Year – Henrietta Ludgate
Scottish Textile Brand of the Year – Harris Tweed Hebrides
Scottish Accessory Designer of the Year – Bebaroque
Scottish Fashion Icon – Freya Mavor
Scottish Communicator of the Year – Angus Munro
Scottish Model of the Year – Tali Lennox
Scottish Retailer of the Year – Rox
Scotland’s New Face – Caitlin Jamieson
Scottish Graduate of the Year – Campbell Dunn
International Designer of the Year (For Use Of A Scottish Fabric) – Henry Holland
Scottish Fashion Innovator – Professor Pamela Gillies (Glasgow Caledonian University)
Fashion Ambassador – Hilary Alexander (Fashion Director Daily Telegraph)
Scottish Hall of Fame 2010 – Rankin