Tuesday, 7 June 2011

2011 CFDA Fashion Awards presented In New York

The 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards took place last night in New York, USA. The annual event recognises contributions made to American fashion, with awards being given for design excellence in womenswear, menswear and accessories as well as accomplishments in journalism, creative vision and lifetime achievement.

The evening’s Womenswear Designer of the Year award went to Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler presented by actress Naomi Watts. The award for Menswear Designer of the Year was presented by actor Gerard Butler to Michael Bastian. Lady Gaga was the recipient of The Fashion Icon Award, presented by Stephen Gan of Harper’s Bazaar, Visionaire, and V Magazine.

There was also three Swarovski Awards, which recognize emerging talent. The Swarovski Award for Womenswear was given to Prabal Gurung and the Swarovski Award for Menswear was presented to Robert Geller. Recipients in each category will receive financial support from the company as well as exposure to crystal products and applications for fashion.

The winners and honorees of the 2011 CFDA Fashion Awards:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Jack McCollough & Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian

Accessory Designer of the Year
Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Prabal Gurung

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Robert Geller

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design
Eddie Borgo

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Marc Jacobs

International Award
Phoebe Philo for CĂ©line

The Media Award, given in honour of Eugenia Sheppard
Hilary Alexander, The Telegraph

The Founder’s Award, given in honor of CFDA Founder Eleanor Lambert
Hal Rubenstein, InStyle

Fashion Icon Award
Lady Gaga

Board of Directors’ Special Tribute
Arthur Elgort